SSCC, South Sudan Council of Churches


The South Sudan Council of Churches came into being after the division of Sudan in 2013, as the South Sudanese branch of the Sudan Council of Churches which was founded in 1965. All the major churches are represented in the SSCC, including the Roman Catholic and Anglican churches, two Reformed churches, one Pentecostal church and one African-independent church. It represents the vast majority of the country's Christians. The Presbyterian Church of South Sudan (PCOSS), a partner church of Mission 21, is one of the founding members of the SSCC. Since 1974, a cooperation alliance has been in place with the Basel Mission (now Mission 21); even during the chaos of the second Sudanese civil war, this partnership was never interrupted. In 2007, the Council underwent far-reaching reform and restructuring to ensure its ability to function effectively in the future. Following South Sudan's independence in July 2011, the SSCC has continued to champion the rights of the country's people and to endeavour to achieve good living conditions for them; it maintains constructive dialogue with the government and the Muslim minority. The SSCC advocates peace and reconciliation; its collaboration with Mission 21 focuses mainly on work with women and young people.

► Website of the SSCC