MCT-SP, Moravian Church Tanzania, South Province


The Moravian Church in Tanzania came into being in 1891 in East Africa, where it now has about 800,000 members. The church is divided into Provinces, and Mission 21 has close ties with two of them. Both the South and South-West Provinces of the Moravian Church in Tanzania carry out educational and social work that is greatly appreciated. The Provinces of the Moravian Church in Tanzania, Zambia and Malawi belong to the Protestant Unity of Brethren, an ecumenically open church which is divided into 28 Provinces across the globe. Its roots go back to the Reformation in Bohemia and Moravia during the 15th century. Moravians are now present in 50 countries. In Rungwe, 152,000 congregation members belong to the South Province of the Moravian Church in Tanzania. The Mission Province of Eastern Tanzania (Dar es Salaam and Zanzibar region) also belongs to the church. The former Mission Province of Malawi became independent in 2012 but it maintains close relations with Rungwe.

Website of the Moravian Church in Tanzania, South Province