MCT-SWP, Moravian Church Tanzania, South West Province

The Moravian Church in Tanzania came into being in 1891 in East Africa, where it has about 800,000 members. The church is divided into Provinces, and Mission 21 has close ties with two of them. Both the South and South-West Provinces of the Moravian Church in Tanzania carry out educational and social work that is greatly appreciated. The Provinces of the Moravian Church in Tanzania, Zambia and Malawi belong to the Protestant Unity of Brethren, an ecumenically open church which is divided into 28 Provinces across the globe. Its roots go back to the Reformation in Bohemia and Moravia during the 15th century. Moravians are now present in 50 countries. The newer Unity Province of South West Tanzania, established in 1976, now has 198 main congregations with 269,800 Christians in the government administrative districts of Mbeya, Mbozi, Chunya and Dodoma. The former Mission District of the South West Province in the Arusha region (northern Tanzania) became independent in 2012.

Website of the Moravian Church in Tanzania South West Province