SSCC, South Sudan Council of Churches


Following the division of Sudan, the South Sudan Council of Churches (SSCC) was inaugurated in 2013 as the South Sudanese branch of the Sudan Council of Churches, which was founded in 1965. With representatives of all the major churches, embracing the Roman Catholic and Anglican churches, two Reformed churches, one Pentecostal church and one African-independent church, the SSCC represents the overwhelming majority of the country's Christians. The Presbyterian Church of South Sudan (PCOSS), Mission 21's partner church, is one of the founding members of the SSCC. Cooperation with the Basel Mission (and nowadays with Mission 21) dates back to 1974; even during the turmoil of the second Sudanese civil war, this relationship never collapsed. A far-reaching reform and restructuring of the Council was implemented in 2007 to ensure that it will remain able to perform its functions in the future.

Since South Sudan gained its independence in July 2011, the SSCC has continued to stand up for the rights of the people in the country and to support good living conditions for them, and it engages in constructive dialogue with the government and the Muslim minority. The SSCC's Coordination Office is now located in Juba, the capital, from where all events and campaigns within the country are organised. Peace and reconciliation work as well as humanitarianinterventions have been key areas of the SSCC's work from the very earliest days. It also has a lengthy tradition of working with women and young people.
In these fields, the current focus is also on cooperation between the SSCC and Mission 21.

► Website of the SSCC

<iframe allowfullscreen frameborder="0" height="360" src="" width="640"></iframe>

<iframe allowfullscreen frameborder="0" height="272" src="" width="640">&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;br /&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;</iframe>