Corona update: Costa Rica

"The Value of Solidarity." Image: www.rompeviento.tv/el-valor-de-la-solidaridad

In his message from Costa Rica, Edwin Mora conveys the importance of a clear stance in the Corona crisis. In his country, too, it is above all the vulnerable groups that are suffering most in this situation.

The economic restrictions are affecting many sectors, especially the tourism industry, but others as well. Unemployment is growing, wages are being cut, poverty is increasing. And for those people who are already poor and homeless, the government's call to stay at home is almost a mockery, Mora says.

But there are also positive forces in the government, he says. The left-wing Minister for Women, Patricia Mora, is making great efforts to support women who are increasingly affected by domestic violence during the "lockdown.

Commitment to more solidarity and justice

At this time, it is important to strengthen emotional closeness and the values of solidarity, emphasizes the vice rector of the Latin American Bible University UBL in Costa Rica. His university - with the support of Mission 21 - trains people to work for more justice in society.

Mora sees positive signals coming from many Costa Rican churches. In contrast to those religious groups that engage in apocalyptic doom and gloom, he says, committed churches are using their social networks to reach out to people, give them encouragement or provide them with material support. These are real signs of hope.

► Read report by Edwin Mora

► I would like to support the work of Mission 21 and its partners

► I would like to learn more about the project work in Costa Rica

Hope thanks to your support

Mission 21
Protestant Mission Basel

PO Box 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Donation account Switzerland:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Tax exemption number:
CHE-105.706.527

Donation account Germany:
Savings Bank Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Swift BIC: SKLODE66
BLZ: 683 500 48
IBAN: DE39 6835 0048 0001 0323 33
Account No. : 1032333

Nach oben scrollen

Corona-Update: Costa Rica

„Der Wert der Solidarität“. Bild: www.rompeviento.tv/el‐valor‐de‐la‐solidaridad

Edwin Mora vermittelt in seiner Botschaft aus Costa Rica, wie wichtig eine klare Haltung in der Corona-Krise sei. Denn auch in seinem Land leiden vor allem die vulnerablen Gruppen am meisten in dieser Situation.

Die wirtschaftlichen Einschränkungen treffen viele Bereiche, insbesondere die Tourismusbranche, aber auch andere. Die Arbeitslosigkeit wächst, Löhne werden gekürzt, die Armut nimmt zu. Und für jene Menschen, die bereits arm und obdachlos sind, sei die Aufforderung der Regierung, zu Hause zu bleiben, fast ein Hohn, sagt Mora.

In der Regierung gebe es aber auch positive Kräfte, sagt er. Die linke Frauenministerin Patricia Mora unternehme grosse Anstrengungen, Frauen zu unterstützen, die im „Lockdown“ vermehrt von häuslicher Gewalt betroffen seien.

Engagement für mehr Solidarität und Gerechtigkeit

In dieser Zeit sei es wichtig, die emotionale Nähe und die Werte der Solidarität zu stärken, betont der Vizerektor der Lateinamerikanischen Bibeluniversität UBL in Costa Rica. Seine Hochschule bildet – mit Unterstützung von Mission 21 – Menschen darin weiter, in der Gesellschaft für mehr Gerechtigkeit zu wirken.

Mora sieht aus vielen Kirchen Costa Ricas positive Signale. Im Unterschied zu jenen religiösen Gruppen, die apokalyptische Schwarzmalerei betrieben, würden engagierte Kirchen ihre sozialen Netzwerke nutzen, um die Menschen zu erreichen, ihnen Mut zu machen oder sie materiell zu unterstützen. Das seien echte Zeichen der Hoffnung.

► Bericht von Edwin Mora lesen

► Ich möchte die Arbeit von Mission 21 und ihren Partnern unterstützen

► Ich möchte mehr über die Projektarbeit in Costa Rica erfahren

Hoffnung dank Ihrer Unterstützung

Mission 21
Evangelisches Missionswerk Basel

Postfach 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Schweiz
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Steuerbefreiungsnummer:
CHE-105.706.527

Mission 21 e.V.

Wartenbergstrasse 2
D-79639 Grenzach-Wyhlen
Tel. +49 (0)7624 208 48 69
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
Sparkasse Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Haagener Strasse 2
D-79539 Lörrach
IBAN: DE05 6835 0048 0001 1250 95
BIC: SKLODE66XXX

Nach oben blättern