Corona Update: South Sudan

Simon Ochedi and children from the Muhaba Children's Center. Many of them are traumatized by war experiences. Photo: Mission 21

South Sudan is under a state of emergency due to the Corona pandemic. The official infection figures are low so far. But the effects of the pandemic go much further, threatening the financial basis of many people. Few people have money to stockpile food or buy a bottle of disinfectant. Food prices have soared, and many are malnourished and and struggling to make ends meet from day to day. "The price of a jerry can of drinking water has doubled in three days," says Simon Ochedi with concern.

Where to go when you don't have a home?
The government has closed all schools and told people to stay at home. "But where should children go who have no home at all?" asks Simon Ochedi. The Muhaba center therefore remains open, but there are temporarily no classes for those children who live outside the center. This hits the girls especially hard:

"The girls who can't stay with us because we don't have a building for them yet, unfortunately couldn't come at all," regrets Simon Ochedi. In total, the children's center cares for 43 boys and girls. The Corona pandemic has had a massive impact on the physical and mental health of the children and young people who have already been affected. Simon Ochedi describes it as a "material hardship, but also a spiritual one." But the director of the children's center is not giving up and is fighting for the well-being of his charges.

► Read report by Simon Ochedi

► Support Mission 21

 

 

Hope thanks to your support

Mission 21
Protestant Mission Basel

PO Box 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Donation account Switzerland:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Tax exemption number:
CHE-105.706.527

Donation account Germany:
Savings Bank Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Swift BIC: SKLODE66
BLZ: 683 500 48
IBAN: DE39 6835 0048 0001 0323 33
Account No. : 1032333

Nach oben scrollen

Corona-Update: Südsudan

Simon Ochedi und Kinder des Muhaba‐Kinderzentrums. Viele von ihnen sind von Kriegserlebnissen traumatisiert. Foto: Mission 21

Wegen der Corona-Pandemie herrscht im Südsudan Ausnahmezustand. Die offiziellen Infektionszahlen sind bisher niedrig. Die Auswirkungen der Pandemie reichen aber viel weiter, sie bedrohen die finanzielle Grundlage vieler Menschen. Die wenigsten Menschen haben Geld, um Lebensmittel auf Vorrat oder eine Flasche Desinfektionsmittel zu kaufen. Die Lebensmittelpreise sind stark angestiegen, viele sind mangelernährt und und bestreiten ihren Lebensunterhalt von Tag zu Tag. „Der Preis für einen Kanister Trinkwasser hat sich innerhalb von drei Tagen verdoppelt“, sagt Simon Ochedi besorgt.

Wohin, wenn man kein Zuhause hat?
Die Regierung hat alle Schulen geschlossen und die Leute angewiesen, zuhause zu bleiben. „Aber wohin sollen Kinder gehen, die gar kein Zuhause haben?“, fragt Simon Ochedi. Das Muhaba Zentrum bleibt deshalb weiter geöffnet, aber es findet vorübergehend kein Unterricht für jene Kinder statt, die ausserhalb des Zentrums wohnen. Dies trifft insbesondere die Mädchen hart:

„Die Mädchen, die nicht bei uns übernachten können, weil wir noch kein Gebäude für sie haben, konnten leider gar nicht mehr kommen“, bedauert Simon Ochedi. Insgesamt betreut das Kinderzentrum 43 Knaben und Mädchen. Die Corona-Pandemie hat massive Auswirkungen auf die physische und psychische Gesundheit der bereits angeschlagenen Kinder und Jugendlichen. Simon Ochedi beschreibt es als eine „materielle, aber auch eine spirituelle Notlage.“ Doch der Leiter des Kinderzentrums gibt nicht auf und kämpft für das Wohl seiner Schützlinge.

► Bericht von Simon Ochedi lesen

► Mission 21 unterstützen

 

 

Hoffnung dank Ihrer Unterstützung

Mission 21
Evangelisches Missionswerk Basel

Postfach 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Schweiz
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Steuerbefreiungsnummer:
CHE-105.706.527

Mission 21 e.V.

Wartenbergstrasse 2
D-79639 Grenzach-Wyhlen
Tel. +49 (0)7624 208 48 69
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
Sparkasse Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Haagener Strasse 2
D-79539 Lörrach
IBAN: DE05 6835 0048 0001 1250 95
BIC: SKLODE66XXX

Nach oben blättern