Repression in Hong Kong

Not imprisoned, but not really free either: People affected by poverty in Hong Kong live in so-called "caged apartments" in the smallest of spaces. But there is hardly any room left for critical expression in the city. Photo: Benny Lam, SoCO

"The past few months have felt like a heavy hand has been laid over Hong Kong." So writes Tobias Brandner, a theology lecturer and prison chaplain in Hong Kong for 25 years. In his new newsletter, he describes how the police have turned into a "repressive apparatus of oppression" in a short time. Many political activists have been detained in recent weeks.
During his prisoner visits, Brandner will be monitored much more closely than before, and his theological faculty will question what political statements are still possible.

He reports, "During those days, I experienced in concentrated form what it is like when a society slides into authoritarian rule, into a dictatorship that establishes itself through all sorts of administrative measures. Microscopically, in prison, I experience the mechanisms of power that tries to control people through harmless little administrative measures."

The powerful report is distressing, but Tobias Brandner also sends words of hope: "The many people in Hong Kong, in prison and elsewhere who hold on to the vision of a non-authoritarian government are a constant source of encouragement."

► Read newsletter (PDF)

► Supporting the work of Tobias Brandner

► Learn more about the project in Hong Kong

Hope thanks to your support

Mission 21
Protestant Mission Basel

PO Box 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Donation account Switzerland:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Tax exemption number:
CHE-105.706.527

Donation account Germany:
Savings Bank Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Swift BIC: SKLODE66
BLZ: 683 500 48
IBAN: DE39 6835 0048 0001 0323 33
Account No. : 1032333

Nach oben scrollen

Repression in Hongkong

Nicht eingesperrt, aber auch nicht wirklich frei: Armutsbetroffene Menschen in Hongkong leben in sogenannten „Käfigwohnungen“ auf kleinstem Raum. Aber auch für kritische Äusserungen ist kaum mehr Raum in der Stadt. Foto: Benny Lam, SoCO

„Die vergangenen Monate fühlten sich an, als würde sich eine schwere Hand über Hongkong legen.“ Das schreibt Tobias Brandner, seit 25 Jahren Theologiedozent und Gefängnisseelsorger in Hongkong. In seinem neuen Rundbrief schildert er, wie die Polizei sich in kurzer Zeit in einen «repressiven Unterdrückungsapparat» verwandelt hat. Viele politische Aktivisten wurden in den vergangenen Wochen inhaftiert.
Bei seinen Gefangenen-Besuchen wird Brandner deutlich strenger überwacht als bisher und in seiner theologischen Fakultät stellt sich die Frage, welche politischen Äusserungen noch möglich sind.

Er berichtet: „In diesen Tagen erlebte ich in konzentrierter Form, wie es ist, wenn eine Gesellschaft in autoritäre Herrschaft abgleitet, in eine Diktatur, die sich über allerhand administrative Massnahmen etabliert. Mikroskopisch erlebe ich im Gefängnis die Mechanismen der Macht, die die Menschen durch harmlose kleine administrative Massnahmen zu kontrollieren versucht.“

Der eindrückliche Bericht macht betroffen, doch Tobias Brandner sendet auch Worte der Hoffnung: „Die vielen Menschen in Hongkong, im Gefängnis und anderswo, die an der Vision einer nicht autoritären Regierung festhalten, sind eine ständige Quelle der Ermutigung.“

► Rundbrief lesen (PDF)

► Die Arbeit von Tobias Brandner unterstützen

► Mehr zum Projekt in Hongkong erfahren

Hoffnung dank Ihrer Unterstützung

Mission 21
Evangelisches Missionswerk Basel

Postfach 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Schweiz
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Steuerbefreiungsnummer:
CHE-105.706.527

Mission 21 e.V.

Wartenbergstrasse 2
D-79639 Grenzach-Wyhlen
Tel. +49 (0)7624 208 48 69
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
Sparkasse Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Haagener Strasse 2
D-79539 Lörrach
IBAN: DE05 6835 0048 0001 1250 95
BIC: SKLODE66XXX

Nach oben blättern