Corona Update: Palestine

Children with disabilities are supported in many ways at Sternberg - for example in painting lessons. Photo: Mission 21

"While we initially feared that our children and young people as well as their families would not be interested in online communication, the remarkable cooperation has positively surprised us," reports Ranya Francis Karam. She is the director of the Sternberg Rehabilitation Center near Ramallah, Palestine. Since the 1980s, the center of the Unity of the Brethren has been supporting disabled children and young people and enabling them to obtain school and vocational qualifications.

Financial worries

Ranya Francis Karam is more concerned about the economic situation. Many people have lost their jobs because of the health measures. Sternberg students, who often come from poor households, are less and less able to pay for their studies and rehabilitation fees. This also has a direct impact on the Sternberg Rehabilitation Center, where the operational gap is widening as the Corona crisis continues. "The pandemic turned from a health problem into a profound shock to the economy and the labor market," says Ranya Francis Karam, summarizing the situation.

Looking forward together

However, the Sternberg Center is not discouraged, on the contrary. Here, too, the digital offers and possibilities are being used more and more, to the delight and support of the families of people with an impairment. Thus, during the lockdown in March and April, WhatsApp groups and Facebook Messenger were set up to continue to accompany and advise students* and parents. Some parents shared daily practices with their impaired children with the group on Facebook. As inspiration and guidance for other families to continue to support and keep their children and teens exercising despite the lockdown. Of course, these measures can only partially replace on-site support. So everyone was happy when Sternberg was able to reopen its doors. The Sternberg Rehabilitation Center is and remains a place where everyone lives by the principle that there is always hope and opportunity, even in difficult times.

► Read report by Ranya Francis Karam

► Support Mission 21

► Learn more about the Sternberg Center

Hope thanks to your support

Mission 21
Protestant Mission Basel

PO Box 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Donation account Switzerland:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Tax exemption number:
CHE-105.706.527

Donation account Germany:
Savings Bank Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Swift BIC: SKLODE66
BLZ: 683 500 48
IBAN: DE39 6835 0048 0001 0323 33
Account No. : 1032333

Nach oben scrollen

Corona Update: Palästina

Kinder mit einer Beeinträchtigung werden auf dem Sternberg vielseitig gefördert – beispielsweise im Malunterricht. Foto: Mission 21

„Während wir anfangs befürchteten, dass sich unsere Kinder und Jugendlichen sowie ihre Familien nicht für Online‐Kommunikation interessieren würden, hat uns die bemerkenswerte Zusammenarbeit positiv überrascht“, berichtet Ranya Francis Karam. Sie ist Direktorin des Rehabilitationszentrum Sternberg in der Nähe von Ramallah/Palästina. Seit den 1980er‐Jahren fördert das Zentrum der Brüder‐Unität behinderte Kinder und Jugendliche und ermöglicht ihnen schulische und berufliche Qualifikationen.

Finanzielle Sorgen

Grössere Sorgen bereitet Ranya Francis Karam die wirtschaftliche Situation. Viele Menschen haben aufgrund der Gesundheitsmassnahmen ihren Job verloren. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler vom Sternberg, die oft aus armen Haushalten stammen, sind immer weniger in der Lage ihre Studien und Reha-Gebühren zu bezahlen. Das hat auch direkte Auswirkungen auf das Rehabilitationszentrum Sternberg, wo sich die operative Lücke mit dem Andauern der Corona-Krise vergrössert. „Die Pandemie verwandelte sich von einem Gesundheitsproblem in einen tiefgreifenden Schock für Wirtschaft und Arbeitsmarkt“, fasst Ranya Francis Karam die Situation zusammen.

Gemeinsam vorwärts schauen

Das Zentrum Sternberg lässt sich aber nicht entmutigen, im Gegenteil. Auch hier werden immer mehr die digitalen Angebote und Möglichkeiten genutzt, zur Freude und Unterstützung der Familien von Menschen mit einer Beeinträchtigung. So wurden während des Lockdowns im März und April WhatsApp Gruppen und Facebook Messenger eingerichtet, um Schüler*innen und Eltern weiterhin zu begleiten und zu beraten. Einige Eltern haben auf Facebook die täglichen Übungen mit ihren beeinträchtigten Kindern mit der Gruppe geteilt. Als Inspiration und Anleitung für andere Familien, damit die Kinder und Jugendlichen trotz des Lockdowns weiterhin gefördert werden und in Übung bleiben. Natürlich können diese Massnahmen die Unterstützung vor Ort nur bedingt ersetzen. So waren alle froh, als das Sternberg seine Türen wieder öffnen konnte. Das Rehabilitationszentrum Sternberg ist und bleibt ein Ort, wo alle nach dem Grundsatz leben, dass immer Hoffnung und Möglichkeiten bestehen, selbst in schwierigen Zeiten.

► Bericht von Ranya Francis Karam lesen

► Mission 21 unterstützen

► Mehr über das Zentrum Sternberg erfahren

Hoffnung dank Ihrer Unterstützung

Mission 21
Evangelisches Missionswerk Basel

Postfach 270
Missionsstrasse 21
4009 Basel, Schweiz
Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
Steuerbefreiungsnummer:
CHE-105.706.527

Mission 21 e.V.

Wartenbergstrasse 2
D-79639 Grenzach-Wyhlen
Tel. +49 (0)7624 208 48 69
info@mission-21.org

Spendenkonto:
Sparkasse Lörrach-Rheinfelden
Haagener Strasse 2
D-79539 Lörrach
IBAN: DE05 6835 0048 0001 1250 95
BIC: SKLODE66XXX

Nach oben blättern