20220612 gd p6120111 cw

    Mission Synod

    The Mission Synod is the highest decision-making body of Mission 21. And it is even more: Members of cultures and denominations from four continents meet at the Mission Synod. Delegates from our partner countries come together, deliberate and discuss, and celebrate global fellowship.

    The majority of the mission synod takes place online and on special occasions also on site. Then the synod days are accompanied by public events. This is an excellent opportunity to get to know us and our international guests better and to foster fellowship. You will find up-to-date information in our agenda. We cordially invite you to the events!

    On this page you will find all the latest information on the next and past mission synods.

    Mission synods 2023 and 2024

    In the current year, the approximately 40 delegates from four continents met online. From Thursday, June 29, 2023 to July 01, 2023, they set the course for Mission 21 for 2024 and the following years. The synod sets the strategic framework for the work of Mission 21, but also discusses the concrete situations and concerns of the people in the partner countries.

    Personal encounters were possible at the public closing mission service on July 02, 2023. A review of Synod 2023 and the closing service can be found in the News. News

    The Synod 2024 is also planned as an online synod and will be from June 26 to 29, 2024 carried out.


    The Mission Synod is the highest decision-making body of Mission 21 and is made up of elected representatives of the continental assemblies and the supporting associations.

    Once a year, its delegates from four continents, chosen on a basis of parity, negotiate the direction of Mission 21's international work. The synod is a place of encounter and exchange - whether present or online.

    Structure of the Mission Synod

    The Mission Synod decides on the strategic direction, the longer-term goals and also the financial planning of Mission 21. In addition, it approves the annual report and annual financial statement and decides on the framework budget for the following year. Gender parity and equal youth representation are sought in the Mission Synod. The deliberations take place in English.

    Supporting associations

    Founded in 2001 by five missionary organizations, Mission 21 is now supported by three organizations: the Basel Mission (BM), the Herrnhut Mission and the Evangelical Mission in Kwango (EMIK).

    Basel Mission

    The Basel Mission is the largest supporting organization of Mission 21. It was founded in 1815 and opened the mission seminary in Basel one year later. In 1821, the Basel Mission sent out the first seminarians: to the Caucasus. In 1828 the mission began work in Ghana, in 1834 in South India and in 1847 in South China. In 1860, the large mission house was built in Basel, which continues to be owned by the Basel Mission. Today it is the headquarters of Mission 21, and the Basel Mission also operates the "Odelya" Hotel in the building. The construction of the mission house was financed at the time primarily by the pietist merchant Christoph Merian-Burckhardt.

    csm symbol image baslermission 8d0cf66f83

    From its approximately two hundred years of work in Africa and Asia and its involvement in Latin America since the 1970s, the Basel Mission brings numerous relationships to Mission 21. The Basel Mission supports the work of Mission 21. Part of this support is earmarked for the scientific care and processing of the archive of the Basel Mission. Mission 21 continues to maintain the extensive archive of the Basel Mission. It includes a wealth of historical text, audio and photographic sources as well as historical maps.

    ► to the hotel "Odelya" Basel

    ► to bmarchives.org

    ► to the website of the Basel Mission

    The Basel Mission was an institution with strong German participation. In 1954, the Basel Mission German Branch, e.V. (BMDZ) was constituted in Stuttgart. Since then, cooperation has renewed and deepened, now between BMDZ and Basel Mission as well as Mission 21.

    ► to the BMDZ website

    Herrnhut Mission

    As a work of the Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine, the mission came into being in 1732 under Count Nikolaus Ludwig von Zinzendorf. The mission areas became independent church areas (provinces) of the "Brüder-Unität". Today, the churches of the Brüdergemeine are committed to helping people on the margins of society, in cooperation with Mission 21. In Switzerland, the Herrnhut congregations, called societies, stand behind this work together with a large circle of readers of the Watchwords and other friends. Through Mission 21, the Herrnhut Mission maintains relationships especially with Tanzania, Palestine and South Africa.

    ► to the website of the Moravian Church in Switzerland

    Evangelical Mission in the Kwango

    The Evangelical Mission in the Kwango (EMIK), founded in 1956, began its activities in "Belgian Congo" in the 1950s. After the independence of the former colony and the foundation of the Democratic Republic (DR) of Congo, EMIK and its partner church Communauté Evangélique du Kwango (CEK) worked together. From 1989, the 50th year of the CEK's existence, the goal was to hand over all projects and leadership tasks to local leaders. A goal that has been achieved for some years now. The concrete project work of the CEK covers a wide spectrum. It ranges from health care, promotion of women's professional activities, agriculture and education to church development and Bible school.

    csm img 0976 2 e979cb4c8d

    Continental Assemblies

    In Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe, the partners of Mission 21 organize themselves in the Continental Assemblies (CAs). All four CTs are full members of Mission 21 and send delegates to the Mission Synod. This South-North exchange is complemented by regular South-South meetings: The continental assemblies of Africa, Asia and Latin America hold a large conference every three years, in which all partner churches and organizations may participate with up to three delegates. Here they can exchange information about program and project work as well as current challenges of the individual partners. Women's organizations and youth representatives discuss common problems and possible solutions in a preliminary conference.

    ► to the partners

    Past mission synods


    Hope thanks to your support

    Mission 21
    Protestant Mission Basel

    PO Box 270
    Missionsstrasse 21
    4009 Basel, Switzerland
    Tel.: +41 (0)61 260 21 20

    Donation account Switzerland:
    IBAN: CH58 0900 0000 4072 6233 2
    Tax exemption number:

    Donation account Germany:
    Savings Bank Lörrach-Rheinfelden
    Swift BIC: SKLODE66
    BLZ: 683 500 48
    IBAN: DE39 6835 0048 0001 0323 33
    Account No. : 1032333

    Nach oben scrollen